Diamond League Prize Money Per Race

With 32 different events to choose from and a points-based “Diamond Race” that spans the 14-meeting IAAF Diamond League season, the IAAF Diamond League truly is an athletics lover’s paradise.

Diamond League Prize Money Per Race

Diamond League Prize Money Per Race

There are seven competitions for each event type, with the top three Athletes receiving the same number of points at each competition (except for the Final, where those points are doubled). As one meeting, the AVIVA London Grand Prix spans two days and 27 events.

1st  place             4 points (Final: 8 points)

2nd  place            2 points (Final: 4 points)

3rd  place            1 point (Final: 2 points)

The “Diamond Race” is awarded to the athlete who finishes the IAAF Diamond League season with the most points across all events. In the event of a tie in the overall point standings, the tie will be broken by the greater number of wins, and if it doesn’t do the trick, the better performance in the Final will be the deciding factor. An athlete must take part in the final (either in Zurich or Brussels) in his or her event discipline in order to be eligible for the Diamond race and its associated reward.

The season’s most consistent performer will be crowned the undisputed World Number 1 and awarded the Diamond Trophy and a cash prize for winning each Diamond Race.


Per Item, Per Gathering

Prize money for each competition is set at 30,000 USD x 15 = 450’000 USD for all 32 events.

Place – Prize Money

  • 1. 10,000 USD
  • 2. 6000 USD
  • 3. 4000 USD
  • 4. 3000 USD
  • 5. 2500 USD
  • 6. 2000 USD
  • 7. 1500 USD
  • 8. 1000 USD

The Race for the Diamond Cup

After the season’s Diamond Race champions have been determined

Beyer, one of the oldest and most prestigious jewellers in the world, was founded in Zürich in the 18th century, and they have designed a stunning Diamond Trophy for the winner of each of the 32 Diamond Races.


There is no better one-day tournament than the Wanda Diamond League. There are 15 of the highest-profile one-day competitions in the sport included, and both men and women compete in the sport’s 16 main events. In the 14-meeting series that spans May-September, athletes earn points toward a trip to the Wanda Diamond League Final in Eugene, Oregon, for the best of the best in their respective events (September 16th-17th).

Athletes earn 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1 points for placing first through eighth, respectively, throughout the 14 events that make up the series. The top six finishers in the field events, the top eight in the 100-800 metre races, and the top ten in the 1500 metre and long distance races will advance to the Final. Athletes who finish the season with identical records are separated by those who had the best performances within the law.

Those who have made it to the final round compete in a winner-take-all tournament for the title of Wanda Diamond League Champion. Over the span of two days of competition at the Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, all 32 Diamond League Champions (one man and one woman in each of the 16 disciplines) are crowned. Winners receive the coveted “Diamond Trophy,” US$30,000, and an automatic berth for the World Athletics Championships (certain conditions apply).