Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series

Presented annually by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series.

Recognises an actor who has appeared in an episode of a drama series as a guest star (ATAS). This award recognises a guest star who has made a significant contribution to a primetime network drama series.

First given out at the 27th Primetime Emmy Awards on May 19, 1975, Patrick McGoohan won it for his work in Columbo: By Dawn’s Early Light.

Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series

A number of rebrandings have occurred since its inception as an award for guest stars in drama and comedy series up to 1978.

At the 38th Primetime Emmy Awards, the category was renamed to recognise outstanding guest performances in drama programmes.

The category’s name was changed to its current form in 1989 after it was subdivided into male and female subcategories.

There have been 36 actors honoured with the award since it was first presented. Charles S. Dutton, John Lithgow, Ron Cephas Jones and Patrick McGoohan have won the most awards in this category with two apiece.

The category record for most nominations is also held by Michael J. Fox, who has been nominated seven times.

Read Also:

  1. Firebringer Song: Everything You Need To Know About It
  2. Lakers: LeBron James a Game Time Decision Tonight Against Toronto
  3. Kate Middleton Holds Tarantula Called Charlotte While Nervous Wills Watches On

Emmys Flub Outstanding Guest Actor Win with Confounding

If you watched the Creative Arts Emmys on FXX on Saturday night, you may have been perplexed when they announced the winner for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series.

However, the editor and the voiceover did not do Ron Cephas Jones justice for his role in the upcoming fifth season of NBC’s hit show “This Is Us,” which premieres in November.

Although Jason Bateman was announced as the winner for his role in “The Outsider,” a title card congratulating Ron Cephas for his role as William Hill on “This Is Us” was shown during the ceremony.

A post-show card confirming that Cephas had won was inserted by the production team, and an official announcement was made by the Television Academy in the virtual media centre to reflect the change.

Read Also:

  1. Who is The Richest Kid in The World 2022-2024
  2. Fictional Narrator Whose First Name is a Fruit Crossword Clue
  3. Bebe Rexha’s Washboard Abs Are Next-Level Sculpted In A Cropped Sweater In Brand New Instagram Photos


It wasn’t the first flub for the Emmys squad on Saturday night. During the award for Outstanding Period and/or Character Hairstyling.

Which went to Netflix’s “Hollywood,” the names of the winners were instead labelled as “NEED NAMES.”

During Maya Rudolph’s win for her guest role on “Saturday Night Live,” a card honouring Eddie Murphy’s guest acting win was also displayed.