If you own an iPhone, you have access to iMessage, a fantastic messaging platform that lets you send and receive messages with a wide variety of useful extras. There may come a time, however, when you’re more interested in erasing a message than sending one.
Messages on an iPhone might be removed for several reasons. It’s easy to erase messages from your own iPhone. Nevertheless, it may take more work for the recipient to remove the messages from their own device. You’ll need access to both your own and the recipient’s iMessage account in order to remove a conversation from both parties’ iPhones.
Here, we’ll show you how to erase a message from the receiving and sending iPhones.
Tips for Deleting Messages from Your iPhone
Whether your iPhone’s inbox is overflowing or you simply want to delete a conversation with a particular contact, you can do it with a simple swipe. We’ve laid out the steps for you so that you may move through the process fast and easily.
Messages on an iPhone can be removed in three easy steps. Messages on your iPhone can be deleted individually or as a group, and you can also delete individual texts. This section elaborates on the operation of each of these techniques:
Solution 1: Get Rid of old threads in your iPhone’s Messages
Follow these procedures to remove a conversation from your iPhone:
- Get started by launching the iPhone’s Messages app. Typically, it’s located in the right-hand corner of your display.
- Your chats will appear on the screen. All of your conversations, whether private and public, can be viewed here.
- Swipe left on a conversation with the appropriate individual to erase it. A choice between two alternatives will appear.
- To remove the conversation, select the trash can icon. As of right now, your iPhone is clear of all chat logs pertaining to that conversation.
Solution 2: Remove individual text messages from your iPhone.
You and another user have the option to delete individual messages from a conversation thread.
- Go to your iPhone’s Messages app.
- Navigate to the conversation in which you want to remove messages.
- Don’t let that unwanted text get away. There won’t be many selections available to you. To read further, please click here.
- To the left of the screen, you’ll see a garbage can symbol. To delete messages, check the box next to them and then click the trash can.
- Those particular conversations will be erased from your iPhone.
Solution 3: You can Delete Several Message threads on your iPhone.
- Go to your iPhone’s Messages app.
- In the top left corner of the screen, you’ll see an Edit button.
- Click the Messages You Want option.
- Choose which texts you wish to remove from your inbox. Pick as many as you like.
- You can delete something by using the Delete button.
- You can use this to erase the contents of your iPhone’s inbox forever.
The iPhone Recipient’s Guide to Message Deletion
Without physical access to the recipient’s iPhone, it is impossible to erase texts sent to that device. You may be able to remove the texts from both devices if the recipient’s iPhone is also signed into your iPhone’s iCloud.
You’ll need the iPhone in the recipient’s possession in order to erase the message from their device. Here’s how to get rid of the messages once you’ve gained access to them:
- A user should launch the Messages app on their iPhone.
- If you want to remove your messages from their iPhones, you’ll need to open your chat.
- Grab the unwanted words and release them.
- Depending on how many messages you wish to remove, you can select one or more of them.
- To delete a file, use the trash can button.
- If you delete the messages, they will be erased forever.
Can iCloud Messages Be Saved?
One of the many reasons you might wish to get rid of a text thread is because it’s eating up precious storage space. What if, though, you require access to that information down the road? Is there a way to erase the messages yet save a copy of them?
The iCloud storage feature built into iPhones is really useful, as it allows you to back up any data you’d like to keep in the cloud to your device. Messages sent to you can be archived there as well. Even if you accidentally erase texts from your iPhone, they will still be available in the iCloud.
To top it all off, the procedure is straightforward. This is how you can achieve that goal.
Delete iPhone Text Messages Without Losing them in iCloud
- Launch the iPhone’s settings menu.
- Your Apple ID and associated information will be displayed at the top of the screen. Get that open.
- Choose the iCloud menu item from the drop-down menu.
- Toggle the Messages on/off switch. If it isn’t green, switch it on.
- Begin syncing your texts to iCloud today. Your erased messages will remain in the iCloud backup for as long as your account is active.
Message deletion on an iPhone is quick and easy. However, it will take some work to remove messages from another person’s phone. The only method to remove a conversation from both of your phones is to have access to the other person’s handset or iMessage account.
It’s simple to delete your text messages from the recipient’s iPhone by using the “unsend” option. However, this will only be effective if the message was sent very recently. You need physical access to the recipient’s iPhone in order to erase previous messages from the thread.